Minnesota Historical Society M-Flame Logo
Townships and Villages banner
Vermillion Falls, Hastings. 1905

Vermillion Falls, Hastings. 1905
Dakota Census Information
Estab:  October 27, 1849
Parent County:  Unorganized Territory
Dakota county with county seat

Southeast region of Minnesota Southwest region of Minnesota Northwest region of Minnesota Northeast region of Minnesota Central region of Minnesota

Go to Mn. Place Names Home page
Go to Dakota County Towns page
Go to Dakota Lakes & Streams page
Go to Dakota People page
Go to Dakota Other Items page
Go to Dakota names from other languages or places page
  Your search for Rosemount in Dakota County returned the following:

Dakota County

ROSEMOUNT Township, established April 6, 1858, "was named by Andrew Keegan and Hugh Derham, from the picturesque village of that name in Ireland." The city of Rosemount began in 1866 and incorporated as a village February 16, 1875, and again on October 23, 1908; it separated from the township on April 26, 1917, and merged with the township on January 21, 1971. Its post office was established in 1855, and it had a station serving several rail lines.