Minnesota Historical Society M-Flame Logo
Townships and Villages banner
Vermillion Falls, Hastings. 1905

Vermillion Falls, Hastings. 1905
Dakota Census Information
Estab:  October 27, 1849
Parent County:  Unorganized Territory
Dakota county with county seat

Southeast region of Minnesota Southwest region of Minnesota Northwest region of Minnesota Northeast region of Minnesota Central region of Minnesota

Go to Mn. Place Names Home page
Go to Dakota County Towns page
Go to Dakota Lakes & Streams page
Go to Dakota People page
Go to Dakota Other Items page
Go to Dakota names from other languages or places page
  Your search for South St. Paul in Dakota County returned the following:

Dakota County

SOUTH ST. PAUL, organized asWest St. Paul Township on May 11, 1858, and incorporated as a city, but returned to township status in 1862; it reincorporated on March 2, 1887, absorbing West St. Paul Township until February 1889, when the city of West St. Paul was incorporated from the western portion of South St. Paul. In 1889, Inver Grove Township annexed the southern part of South St. Paul; it reincorporated as a city on January 20, 1906, and in the 1960s annexed acreage from Inver Grove Township. Its post office was established in 1888.