Minnesota Historical Society M-Flame Logo
Other Items banner
Pigeon River Falls, Cook County, 1910.

Pigeon River Falls, Cook County, 1910.
Cook Census Information
Estab:  March 9, 1874
Parent County:  Lake
Cook county with county seat

Southeast region of Minnesota Southwest region of Minnesota Northwest region of Minnesota Northeast region of Minnesota Central region of Minnesota

Go to Mn. Place Names Home page
Go to Cook County Towns page
Go to Cook Lakes & Streams page
Go to Cook People page
Go to Cook Other Items page
Go to Cook names from other languages or places page
  Your search for Grand Portage reservation in Cook County returned the following:

Cook County

All townships in Cook County dissolved in 1950; Schroeder and Tofte were reorganized. Three unorganized territories were formed: West Cook includes former Grand Marais, Lutson, and part of Rosebush; East Cook includes Colville, Hoveland, Maple Hill, and part of Rosebush; Grand Portage includes Grand Portage Reservation.

MINERAL CENTER, a post office, 1918-36, located in T. 63N, R. 5E, section 14, on the Grand Portage Reservation.

"Mesqua-tawangewi zibi, or Red Sand river," as it was called by Gilfillan, and a lake of the same name, form the greater part of the west boundary of the Grand Portage Reservation. This stream is also called Reservation River, and the lake is named Swamp Lake on the maps of 1911 and 1916. In the treaty of September 30, 1854, which established the reservation, this stream is mentioned as "called by the Indians Maw-ske-gwaw-caw-maw-se-be, or Cranberry Marsh river."

The state added a fourth park along the shore in 1989 with the creation of Grand Portage State Park. Like the other parks of the county, it has as its focus a cascading river, in this case the Pigeon River and its High Falls. Unlike the other parks, the state does not own the land, which is wholly within the Grand Portage Reservation. Instead, the state and the Grand Portage band cooperated to develop the area, but the land remains in trust with the band and the Bureau of Indian Affairs.